win98 firewall

Firewalls stop unauthorized computers from connecting to your computer. Is Win98 somehow impervious to that threat? No!

Reply to
Connected
Loading thread data ...

Hi,

I'm new to the subject of firewalls. Can anybody recommend a user-friendly firewall for a win98 home pc that I won't need a rocket-science degree to use?

tia

mori

Reply to
moriman

"moriman" wrote in message news:KkFYd.519$ snipped-for-privacy@newsfe3-gui.ntli.net...

Most likely it doesn't need a firewall at all. But you should run some tests to see what other people on the Internet can see. Use some of these

formatting link
of them may attempt to sell you products based on the results of the scan but there is no need to purchase anything. Assuming that the above tools don't find anything wrong (such as file sharing available to anyone) then you should forget about firewalls and pay attention to virus scanners and other tools and other methods of keeping the PC secure. All of the following are point and click and don't require any rocket science. What virus scanner do you have installed on that PC? When did you last visit Windows Update and does the PC have all critical updates?
formatting link
you using the world's most insecure web browser (Internet Explorer)? If so then consider switching to another browser such as
formatting link
Internet Explorer only for Windows Update. I would also recommend installing the following and making sure that they are up to date. Make sure that a full check for problems is done regularly and that they are updated regularly.
formatting link
consider these
formatting link
a Windows 98 PC on a cable modem, firewall software is the last thing you should worry about. Most people who install firewall software on a Windows 98 PC do so for the wrong reasons and end up getting into a complete mess because they don't know enough rocket science to answer the stupid popups produced by the worthless firewall software.

Jason

Reply to
Jason Edwards