I try again : sygate + xpfirewall ?

I try again ... I reactivated xpfirewall and so :

sygate + xpfirewall ?

I hope is it ok this time ?

Reply to
K®54
Loading thread data ...

There is no need for both. If you use Sygate, turn XP Firewall off. If not, then turn XP Fireall on (by itself only).

Reply to
Kerodo

mesnews quota Kerodo che giovedì, 26/01/2006, 17.46.47 scrisse :

what are the problems if I keep active both firewalls ?

I activated both firewall because I heard on this newsgroup that sygate has a problem = ''Sygate has a big design flaw as a "Personal Firewall"

formatting link
(but I'm a newbie)

Reply to
K®54

They may (or may not) interfere with each other. This may lead to arbitrary behaviour, up to allowing unsolicited packets through both of them.

What exactly are you trying to achieve by using both of them? What can the two of them do that either one isn't capable of?

This design flaw is not exploitable from the outside but from the inside. Neither of them can protect Sygate from local attacks against this flaw, and both of them are capable of filtering inbound connections. There's no need for both of them.

cu

59cobalt
Reply to
Ansgar -59cobalt- Wiechers

mesnews quota Ansgar -59cobalt- Wiechers che giovedì,

26/01/2006, 19.04.28 scrisse :

I asked that You answered below

:'(

Reply to
K®54

If you want to run two packet filters Sygate and something to supplement it, then run with IPsec as the second choice. I use IPsec to supplement BlackIce on my XP laptop while I am on the road using the Earthlink dial-up connection to make this post to you.