Weird privilege problem

Ok, I'm new to this so bear with me.

When I connect to one of our switches running ios vs 12.0 via the console, I am able to type commands normally.

However, when I log in on a VTY via telnet, the login is successful but almost any command I type results in a "Command authorization failed." I can check my privilege level, however, and it says I am level 15.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Our lines are configured thusly:

! line con 0 exec-timeout 99 0 privilege level 15 password transport input none stopbits 1 line vty 0 2 access-class 112 in exec-timeout 4 30 password line vty 3 4 access-class 101 in password line vty 5 15 access-class 10 in !

Reply to
GregG
Loading thread data ...

GregG wrote in news:cc7030c6-22a1-4ce7-b604- snipped-for-privacy@x41g2000hsb.googlegroups.com:

Hi Greg

What does your aaa section say about authorization of commands?

Regards, Lars C. CCIE #20292

Reply to
Lars Christensen

Thanks, Lars.

aaa new-model aaa authentication login default group tacacs+ local enable aaa authorization config-commands aaa authorization exec default group tacacs+ local aaa authorization commands 15 default group tacacs+ if-authenticated

So, it's a tacacs problem, right?

Reply to
GregG

Yes... At least it looks like it at this point. You should check your TACACS server to be sure the username you login with is authorized to perform the commands you are trying.

-JC

Reply to
J.Cottingim