VLAN question

Hi,

I am a UNIX admin and would like to know more about VLAN's from the cisco side of things. As a sysadmin I use VLAN's to put multiple subnets on the same wire.

So my questions are:

1)At the switch port, can each port be configured to belong to multiple VLAN's. I bought a Dell power connect 2716 and it only allows one VLAN in addition to the one standard VLAN per port.

2)Is there any such thing as VLAN to subnet mapping. When a VLAN ID is assigned by the network admin, on what basis is it assigned?

Thanks again, I have read the VLAN wiki but would like to have a practical understanding of how VLAN's work?

Andy

Reply to
Andy Neirman
Loading thread data ...

Before you go any further in VLAN you need to know and understand that you do not at all require VLAN to put multiple subnets on the same wire.

VLAN is only required when you want to separate those VLANs.

Apparently a quite limited device. When you want more, you may need to buy another switch. (I did not check if your claim is actually true)

When you configure multiple VLANs in a switch or router, you assign multiple IP addresses/subnets to the same port but different VLAN, and the VLAN is selected based on the routing.

Reply to
Rob

The first thing you need to realize is that switches (like hosts) can operate their ports in one of two modes. Access mode, or Trunk mode. There aren't any switches that generally do access-mode with multi-vlan. That would lose most benefits of vlans if that were allowed (although there are some ancient long EOL'd cisco switches that support such a thing on a single switch, no networks of them).

If you are doing multiple VLANs on a port, then you need to be in Trunk mode. Switch to Switch ports or ether-channels need to be in trunk mode as well. Access ports are used for servers that don't do VLAN tagging at all, and just need access to a single VLAN.