Problem with Cisco Switch Port Please Help

We have a new device by Raritan it is a Dominion SX16. It has an ethernet connection. With a straight thru cable plugged into its ethernet port.

When we plug the other side of the ethernet cable into a 6500 Cisco Switch we (do not) get a link light on the Cisco port and Raritan device. The port is just configured for 100/full and on VLAN 1

When we plug the other side of the ethernet cable into a 2924 or 2912 switch we (do) get a link light on both devices ports. The port is also just configured for 100/full and on VLAN 1

What is the problem, there should be no difference between an ethernet port on a 6500 switch and a port on a 2900 switch? We have tried to connect this device to multiple 6000 switches and we get the same result no connection and no link lights but everytime we connect to a

2900 switch port we get a connection.

I have been doing networking for over 7 years and I have never seen this type of problem.

Any help is appreciated????

Reply to
mdargin
Loading thread data ...

I would also make sure it is actually a straight thru cable. A crossover is used for switch to switch links, so if you're getting a link between switches, it may be a crossover.

Reply to
robert.edmeister

In article , wrote: :We have a new device by Raritan it is a Dominion SX16.

:When we plug the other side of the ethernet cable into a 6500 Cisco :Switch we (do not) get a link light on the Cisco port and Raritan :device. The port is just configured for 100/full and on VLAN 1

:When we plug the other side of the ethernet cable into a 2924 or 2912 :switch we (do) get a link light on both devices ports. The port is :also just configured for 100/full and on VLAN 1

:What is the problem, there should be no difference between an ethernet :port on a 6500 switch and a port on a 2900 switch?

If I recall past discussions correctly, the 6500 and 29xx series handle autonegotiation differently.