PIX 501 VPN RAS

I have recently started to (attempted to) use a PIX 501 firewall on our network, the consequence being the MS VPN connection does not seem to be working properly.

Being complete novices when it comes to PIX I need some advice on how to configure the PIX to pass the VPN traffic to a RAS server.

The network set-up is:

INTERNET Netgear DG814 PIX ------(Intranet)

By intranet, I mean there are three servers connected to the PIX firewall. (Internet Server, Mail Server and the RAS Server).

Basically, (I think!) I need to know how to route all PPTP traffic to the RAS server.

If I have it totally wrong, please feel free to ridicule... Also if you are so kind as to reply, please pitch the answers as if you are explaining to the local village idiot, so I can understand

Thanks in advance

Tony

PIX version is : 6.3(5)

Reply to
POP3.demon.co.uk
Loading thread data ...

Use Transport-Mode and disable PFS, to get MS IPSec working. Use vpdn for L2TP.

You need a public address on the pix outside interface.

You need 1:1 NAT (static) for this single server. Otherwise GRE (using PPTP) will not be forwarable. Allow TCP/1723 and GRE from outside.

You need at least two fixed, public addresses on the pix outside interface.

Reply to
Lutz Donnerhacke

Hi Lutz

I am slowly starting to understand (I think)

I am still a little confused over having to need two fixed public addresses

We currently have one fixed IP from the ISP which connects to a Netgear router which acts as a DHCP server and gives out an IP address to the PIX. I would like to know if it is possible to use these DHCP addresses instead of the fixed public ip addresses.

I have a diagram off the Cisco site which seems to indicate only one is needed. I do not mean to offend but can you explain why the following will not work (or rather where I am getting confused)