Newbie needs help with 877w router

Hi There,

Bit of background.. I work for a small charity and I am in charge of our IT BUT I have limited knowledge, especially when it comes to networks.

I bought a 877W router and I am trying to set it up for a simple network of 5 computers. However, when I try and Install SDM, it asks for a level 15 username and password. 'Cisco' 'Cisco' does not work and I cannot get any further. I have tried to connect via telnet and hyperterminal, using the 'open' command and the default IP (10.10.10.1) but it again asks me to enter the login for a level 15.

I have read that you can create users but the only command prompt I can access is 'Microsoft Telnet' and it does not accept any of the commands i put in (i expect it is because the command prompt is wrong but i don't know how to change it!)

Is there a default login for level 15 or have I knackered up the flash memory of the router somehow? I tried to install it about 2 months ago and didn't get very far (although I am sure I got to the SDM page). If it comes to it, can I do a hard reset or something?

any help would be much appreciated as we can't really afford to buy in an expert. If you need more info then I will do what i can.

Cheers, Simon

Reply to
wotsmyaddress
Loading thread data ...

formatting link
Not sure I can help with the username and password however the link above will help you recover from a lost password.

Reply to
Chad Mahoney

Thanks for the idea Chad but I can't seem to get anywhere with this bit..

QUOTE FROM INSTRUCTIONS:

Step 1 Connect an ASCII terminal or a PC running a terminal emulation program to the CONSOLE port on the rear panel of the router.

Step 2 Configure the terminal to operate at 9600 baud, 8 data bits, no parity, and 1 stop bit.

Step 3 At the privileged EXEC prompt (router_name #), enter the show version command to display the existing configuration register value (shown in bold at the bottom of this output example):