Monitoring

Can anyone recommend a good software package to monitor cisco pix routers and swtitches I got a guy leaving my company who was just using some syslog utils and I will have this responsibility now and I am a little new to it. With some research it looks like ether peek is a good tool to use. He was using kiwi syslog.. Anyways any recommendations would be great especailly for free stuff thanks

Reply to
jspr
Loading thread data ...

What do you want to accomplish and what is your budget?

For status m> Can anyone recommend a good software package to monitor cisco pix

Reply to
Nick

Reply to
gene martinez

In article , jspr wrote: :Can anyone recommend a good software package to monitor cisco pix :routers and swtitches I got a guy leaving my company who was just using :some syslog utils and I will have this responsibility now and I am a :little new to it.

If you are looking for alarms/pager/email when certain easily identifiable events show up in the logs, then kiwilogger is probably fine if the event rate isn't too high.

If you are looking for very simple accounting, then the closest I know of is Sawmill, which can only handle very basic records. For -really- basic accounting, the 'pixtraff' program I tossed together is a start:

formatting link

For more sophisticated accounting, such as sorting by usage, selecting particular hosts, ability to account incoming traffic seperately from outgoing, ability to ignore certain kinds of traffic, selecting by time period, automatic per-hour or per day summaries... If you want those sort of features, then the only tools I know of are mine, which are not released. Network Intelligence used to have a useful (but less accurate) program, but they got out of that market.

Reply to
Walter Roberson