Catalyst 1900 Configuration {lost} sorry

Hi, I am hoping someone nice and informed can help me. I am not an expert with this, but know enough to motivate me to try and keep trying to get it working.

Ok, I have a Catalyst 1900 I picked up from eBay. It is cool, and seems to light up and is functional. I have two Windows XP 64 Bit computers. I want to tie them together in a VLAN.

Issues/Problems:

1) Don't know how to begin 2) I figure _1st_ I need to get into the Switch Console.... however, this has been problematic (see below) 3) I am not sure if I have all the right cables (more on this in the next paragraph)

Ok, so, from reading the convoluted documentation from Cisco (which I am sure is well put together, ... but for someone who is very well trained on this product). I hope to be a better Cisco switch expert one day... but one thing at a time.

There is a CONSOLE output connector in the back. I am confused in the documentation about what that is supposed to go to. Could I use a regular Network cable, and hook it to a PC machine... I assume some kind of Hyperterminal to configure it?

Since I didn't own this device, I don't know what is on it, (i.e. how it is configured). I just want to get things moving, so I can connect two machines into it, ... with each assigned a Private Internal IP address.

Can someone help me with this, and see where I am falling down? Any ideas that would simplify me procedure would be immensely helpful and gracious.

Have a nice day. Best wishes, Sarah.

Reply to
the.srh
Loading thread data ...

A typical console cable has an RJ45 connector on one end (just like an Ethernet patch cord), but the other end has a 15 pin D-shell connector that you attach to a laptop serial port. This end may vary depending on the console cable your device uses.

The console cable is often identifiable (when its in a pile) by its light blue color.