Extreme Newby question

I am just starting out with Cisco and I was lucky enough to get my employer to let me borrow two 2950 switches and a 2820 switch. I have no idea what I need to do to get these things up and running. When I connect to the switch it goes to the switch: prompt and I enter "?" and get the following:

switch: ? ? -- Present list of available commands boot -- Load and boot an executable image cat -- Concatenate (type) file(s) copy -- Copy a file delete -- Delete file(s) dir -- List files in directories flash_init -- Initialize flash filesystem(s) format -- Format a filesystem fsck -- Check filesystem consistency help -- Present list of available commands load_helper -- Load and initialize a helper image memory -- Present memory heap utilization information mkdir -- Create dir(s) more -- Concatenate (display) file(s) rename -- Rename a file reset -- Reset the system rmdir -- Delete empty dir(s) set -- Set or display environment variables set_param -- Set system parameters in flash trap -- Cause a software breakpoint to occur type -- Concatenate (type) file(s) unset -- Unset one or more environment variables -- MORE -- version -- Display boot loader version switch:

When I enter "dir" I get the following: switch: dir

List of filesystems currently registered:

flash[0]: (read-write) xmodem[1]: (read-only) null[2]: (read-write) bs[3]: (read-only)

switch:

can anyone tell me what I need to do next (other than read as many books as possible, which I'm doing as well)

Thanks, Matt

Reply to
Mat
Loading thread data ...

formatting link
is what you are looking for. Also go through the TAC recommendations and practice them on your switches.
formatting link
Welcome :-)

Reply to
Leonid S. Knyshov

From what you are describing, you next need to type "enable" but all that is going to do is give you another command prompt. The CLI is not going to help you at all, you have to already know what you want to do, and how to do it.