cat5 and electrical fields

I'm hoping to ask the pros in this group to help me figure an unusual problem out. I have over 6 yrs experience in tpcip networking and cat5 cabling. I have a small business and cat5 network on a daily basis...

Ok with that said the problem I'm having is running a brand new cat5 cable out to my work shed on my property that is only 70 feet away from my 3com 24 port router. I already have several other workstations in the house that are plugged into the router via external wires. They are on the network and I can ping them whenever needed...

The line to my shed... I made up the wire. Tested the wire before I moved the new computer to the shed. Worked great.

Moved the new computer to the shed. hooked up the wire. Can't ping Cant Access at all...

Ok... I have to run over a 5ft chain link fence...

I've tried all of the possibilities short of digging a ditch and can not figure this out... Maybe the shed has an open electrical field??

Any Ideas...Suggestions??

Thanks

IDOXLR8

Reply to
idoxlr8
Loading thread data ...

Thanks for replying Dimitri,

Grin... I'm not welding at the time that I'm cabeling... Yes The lights are on on both the nic and the router... and just incase... I have tried changing the router port to another...

I know this is screwd up but its really happening for two weeks now...

I even went so far as to buy another batch of cat5 cable. same results... Maybe the fence??

Thanks Dimitri Tim

Reply to
idoxlr8

You said you maid up the wire, then tested. Did you mean that you installed the jack on the shed end of the cable and THEN pulled to the shed? If that's true, then you could have easily pulled a wire or two out of their IDC (punch-down) connectors.

Check to see if there is a link light on the NIC. It should usually be steady green. Check on the switch, too. If one of the link lights is missing, then one or both wires of the local end receiving or far end transmitting pair got disconnected.