Using bittorrent for single PC-to-PC transfer?

Hi all,

I want to transfer a very large file from my home PC to the PC that I have with me on the road, but not share this file with 100000 other people.

Is this possible with bittorrent? I ask because my home cable provider Comcast is somehow blocking ftp and VPN. Or perhaps the blocking is on this end (on the road).

I suppose I would encrypt the crap out of this file before transferring it.

Thanks.

Reply to
Rex
Loading thread data ...

Set up a 'private' ftp server on some innocuous port. I've been doing this for several years with family to transfer large files between Comcast addresses and between Comcast and other networks. Both parties need to set up ftp using the random port.

Alternatively, use your Comcast file storage as an intermediate host for your files - if the files are not too large. Upload from home via ftp to you storage. Set up a private web page with nothing more than the download link for web access while on the road.

Q
Reply to
Quaoar

Go to google and enter the search: "Free shell account"

You get a Unix user's shell with storage. You can login to the account and put the file there. When you get to wherever, transfer it to the other system. The upload will go at limited speed provided by your Comcast account. The transfer to the second machine will go at a very attractive speed.

Reply to
Ken

"Rex" wrote in news:1150438264.351458.170060 @g10g2000cwb.googlegroups.com:

Yes, but you wouldn't receive any benefits from it--with one seed (the home computer) and one peer (the travelling computer), the transfer would go at the maximum upload speed of the seed. Azureus' built-in tracker/web server would work fine--just don't distribute the torrent, and no one else will be able to join the swarm.

As others have pointed out, an FTP on a random port would probably work better with less overhead. Or you could try

formatting link
if you only need to make the transfer once.

Reply to
Hop-Frog