Inexpensive point-to-point solution needed

I'm a bit of a newbie to this topic so please excuse my ignorance.

We live out in the boonies - no cable, no DSL - only internet access is via satellite. For various reasons (not the least of which is cost) we do not have a satellite hook-up ourselves. However, our neighbors just up the hill (about 300' through the trees) do get satellite internet. On occasion, we can actually get a weak signal off of their wireless (with their leave) - but only certain dell laptops are able to even pick it up (my

Reply to
JJ
Loading thread data ...

On Thu, 11 Dec 2008 11:17:11 -0800 (PST), JJ wrote in :

Trees are a problem for Wi-Fi, which needs _clear_ line of sight.

Are you totally averse to running a buried cable?

Did you try a directional antenna or reflector to see if that would solve the signal problem?

A wireless router won't connect to another wireless router -- you need a wireless _client_ bridge at your end.

That's asking a lot for cheap -- cheap, fast, reliable, pick any two (at most).

The straightforward solution is a wireless Ethernet client bridge with a directional antenna pointed at your neighbor, connected to a wireless access point for your house, probably with a standard omni antenna. Think of your house as a boat, and see .

Reply to
John Navas

JJ fired this volley in news:a23e2e57-389c-42df- snipped-for-privacy@v15g2000vbb.googlegroups.com:

I have only a few months' experience with this item, but I recently did exactly the same setup to get access from our home to our barn -- about 400' away. I wanted a little 'overkill' to make sure it would be a dead-on solid connection.

The Ubiquity PowerStation-2 bridge setup (ubnt.com) from HD communications works great, and so far, it has been perfectly reliable.

The whole setup, including two bridge devices, the masts, and your own made-up cables should run you under $450.

formatting link