Getting around blocked ports at Wireless hotspots

Here is my problem. I am a contract computer programmer. One of the good things about my job is that I can pretty much work from anywhere I can get an internet connection. The problem is that I often need to use ports that most people don't and which therefore are blocked from many wireless hotspots.

The most common one is port number 1433 for connecting to Database servers. The servers are not mine but my clients so I cannot change the port number on the server end.

Basically this is my idea to solve the problem

1. Leave a computer online at my house that would forward my request from the hotspot onto the server.
  2. I would then change the requests that I am making to the server from the wireless hotspot to actually make the requests to my home PC on a port that is not blocked at the hotspot. Say port 80.
  3. The computer at home would forward all requests on the designated port number onto the server on port number 1433 It would then return all responses from the server back to me on the hotspot.

For step 3 above I would like to find a utility program that I could set up to do this. I also could write a program in java that I could run on home pc to do this but I would rather not if there is already something out there.

Any suggestions on programs that would do this? Can this be done? Any ideas on problems I would run into trying to program this?

Reply to
tedbow
Loading thread data ...

| Here is my problem. | I am a contract computer programmer. One of the good things about my | job is that I can pretty much work from anywhere I can get an internet | connection. The problem is that I often need to use ports that most | people don't and which therefore are blocked from many wireless | hotspots. | | The most common one is port number 1433 for connecting to Database | servers. The servers are not mine but my clients so I cannot change | the port number on the server end.