Corrupted data from SFPs in a single mode system

Hi,

I'm working on providing information and training for users installing fibre optic systems in Broadcast facilities, and I've noticed an effect which I cannot explain. The systems use single mode fibres at

1330 nM, at a data rate of 2500Mbit/sec.

- The receivers used have built in level metering

- When a loss is introduced in a controlled way - using an attenuator

- they work perfectly down to about their specified level (about 30uW)

- When there is a loss because of installation problems - dirt on lenses, incorrectly mated connectors, etc, - problems occur (problems = corrupted data) at much higher levels (100uW and higher).

Obviously these losses can be eliminated by cleaning and correctly seating the connectors, but I'm at a loss to give an explanation of what is going on. I'm only an engineer, I'm hoping there are some physicists here who really understand fibre optic systems, and can tell me what is happening.

W
Reply to
will
Loading thread data ...

Sounds like coherence fluctuation noise due to the back-reflections. Lasers generally have much worse phase noise than amplitude noise. Multiple paths with different delays turn the phase noise into amplitude noise, which can easily be 40 dB worse than the laser's intrinsic amplitude noise.

In long-haul fibre optic systems it's usually caused by double Rayleigh scattering, but discrete back-reflections do it too.

Cheers,

Phil Hobbs

Reply to
Phil Hobbs

Thanks for the response Phil. Can you tidy up some loose ends for me, and make sure I've understood what you've said

So dirt and grease and so on can cause significant enough back reflections to cause this kind of thing (I understand that you're saying that although the amplitude of the reflections may seem harmlessly small, they can phase problem which the real nasty)?