Static IP on residential line

What companies offer static IP addresses on residential lines in the New York City area? I have been using Speakeasy for almost five years now, but for six or seven months now my line quality has ranged from fair to unusable for $53/month. I put in a ticket in the spring but eventually was told that Covad "declared the line best effort." That doesn't make it any better, though. I just put in another ticket but am not optimistic that anything will be done about it. Some nights I just want to cancel the service and forget about Internet altogether. FIOS interests me at $30/month but for a static IP I'd have to get a business line for about $100/month (ridiculous). I have a small, obscure, low-traffic server that hosts several silly web sites and also acts as my personal mail server. I'd hate to have to host my sites and my e-mail elsewhere if I don't have to but I'm just getting tired of my pathetic service-- which used to work great for years, making it all the more frustrating.

Reply to
Andrew M. Saucci, Jr.
Loading thread data ...

You might want to look into one of the many Dynamic DNS sites. Many are free and a few even provide dynamic port swapping in order to get around a blocked port number, like 25 or 80.

Reply to
GlowingBlueMist

Sounds like a Verizon problem.

Reply to
News

Sure it does-- but I'm buying the service from Speakeasy. It is Speakeasy's responsibility to force Verizon to fix it if necessary. It would in fact bug me if I gave my business directly to the company responsible for the poor service, but what is a harried teleworker supposed to do?

Reply to
Andrew M. Saucci, Jr.

As an IT consultant, I have found that nothing substitutes for a real static IP address when running a mail server. Besides, the terms of service for residential lines usually preclude running any sort of server under any conditions.

Reply to
Andrew M. Saucci, Jr.

So go back and ask again, and again if necessary.