Options for connecting ISP supplied GW to wrt54GL

Hello, this is the problem. The ISP supplied DSL modem/router supplied to me is the Actiontec gt704. I connected one wired pc and one wireless.

2 issues - when ever the network is busy, be it thru using bit torrent,copying files between the 2 pc's, online computer games, etc. The device will often slow to a crawl and then reboot itself. Secondly, wireless coverage is mediocre.

My proposed solution is to try and run the gt704 as close as possible to pure modem mode as I can get it, and use it with a third party wireless router.

I'm not sure what is possible with the gt704 mainly because I'm a network novice and the doc included is very poor. So far, I have setup DMZ in the device and used a static IP in the wired PC to make sure it works. It does.

The second thing I did was to get my old Netgear rt314 to connect to the DMZ IP and plug the wired pc into that. After running the rt314 easy setup, that to seems to work fine.

I'm now set to go out and purchase a Linksys wrt54gl retire the Netgear for a second time and connect it as I did the netgear, and use the superior wireless and router capabilities of the new device.

Is this a typical setup, or are there other methods I should be looking at? Any thoughts appreciated.

Dave

Reply to
dave xnet
Loading thread data ...

On Wed, 31 Jan 2007 20:54:26 GMT, dave xnet wrote in :

File sharing like Bittorrent opens a great many connections that can cause many low end devices to fall over and die. Try greatly limiting the number of connections.

If so, use DD-WRT firmware with connections cranked up to 4,096.

Reply to
John Navas

Thanks John. I'll look into that firmware. I'm assuming because you didn't say anything to the contrary, that the DMZ mechanism is an acceptible way to accomplish what I'm trying to do.

regards, Dave

Reply to
dave xnet

On Thu, 01 Feb 2007 00:40:10 GMT, dave xnet wrote in :