Newbie here, could someone please advise

Hi all,

I am a wireless novice, but relatively technically competent otherwise.

I want to set up a wireless LAN link between two nearby buildings. It's not easy to find out exactly what I need and I hope this group can offer some advice.

Essentially I work from home, in an office in my flat, with wired broadband. I also look after the flat nearby of a friend, who works abroad so isn't there often and doesn't have a landline.

When building work gets too noisy I use his flat as an office. Major building work is planned nearby for later this year and it's going to be pretty horrible. So I want to link to his flat so I can decamp there for the period of the building, and obviously when he's around he'd find the internet useful.

LOS distance between the two flats = 360 feet. There are a few trees which will soon have foliage on them.

What I think I need is two wireless routers, a length of co-ax antenna cable, and to make an external antenna to fit on the outside of my flat. Is this right? Will I also need a receiving antenna on his flat?

Your thoughts would be much appreciated

thanks

Julian

Reply to
projectstock
Loading thread data ...

As a first guess, both APs would likely benefit from directional antennas coupled w/coax, as high as possible on both buildings, with the second AP able to be configured to run in bridge mode. Of course, directional antenna at your place may make wireless connection there problematic, unless maybe you also install an additional AP there (w/its omnidirectional antenna), with its WAN port connected via ethernet to bridge port on the router with the Internet connection.