Multiple AP

Hi,

I have a question about the use of multiple AP in an office environment. I'm an experienced sysadmin, but haven't really touched wireless, except at home where I have a really simple setup.

I recently started a new job and have some problems which may be related ot the way our wireless is set up. We have three AP. One is the internet router, one in an office just down the corridor and another around 100m away in the warehouse. As far as I can tell, all three are connected to the same switched LAN, use the same DHCP server to issue an IP, are on the same channel and have no encryption enabled.

What I need to understand is this: Can the wireless network opperate in this way, with three AP overlapping, but with no knowledge of each other? Is there a better way for this to be set up to increase resiliance and security? I'm not happy about the lack of encryption but have only every touched WEP and WPA in a single-AP environment.

We have some hand-held devices in the warehouse which keep falling off the network, and I wondered if our setup is what's causing this to happen possibly.

Any thoughts gratefully received!

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
Richie4236
Loading thread data ...

Richie4236 hath wroth:

Yes. 802.11 wireless is CSMA/CA (Carrier Sense Multiple Access/Collision Avoidance), which effectively time shares the available bandwidth. It would probably have been better if the 3 access points were working on different on-overlapping channels (1, 6, and 11), but they are apparently far enough apart from each other that it would make little difference.