Setting up a home IVR

Greetings, all.

I am completely new to anything VoIP, other than client usage, so I come here seeking guidiance.

If I can, I would like like to connect my home's PSTN line to my computer and have my computer act as a voicemail system that reacts to call ID info.

What I envision is plugging a phone cable into the phone jack of my wall and some piece of hardware that is connected to my computer (pressumably by ethernet, USB, PCI slot, etc) and having the computer see the phone numbers of incomming callers and acting on them. For example, if the computer sees one number, it does nothing, if it sees another it plays a recording asking the caller to leave a voicemail. Actually recording the voicemail is good, but not absolutely neccessary. :-)

My research seems to indicate that the software part of this is possible. I will eventually find something to put on my linux box for this purpose, however, I am unfamilair with the hardware involved. I would appreciate it if someone could advise if my goals described above are achievable, and what type of hardware would I need for this.

I am unclear on what will do the job, but I know a little bit about what is out there.

Would something like this item be helpfull in my above stated goals?

Grandstream HandyTone 488 Analog Telephone Adaptor

formatting link

It is relatively cheap, as such hardware goes right now, so I was hoping I could just buy it, or something comparable, plug it it and run something like Callweaver, YATE, SipX, etc to do what I desire.

Thanks

Reply to
John McKenzie
Loading thread data ...

IMHO, the Asterisk running on a Linux machine is a best option to meet all your current and, or future needs and, or requirements. Instead of an ATA (Analog Telephone Adapter), try finding a suitable card with one FXS and one FXO ports.

Reply to
Balwinder S "bsd" Dheeman

you can connect your pstn and voip using combine-a-line.