Advice for a new VoIP Setup

Dear all,

I am new to the VoIP bandwagon and am extremely confused by the options available in the VoIP market. I have a few fundamental questions about the working and installation of a full fledged VoIP solution.

The Environment: We are a small-mid sized business with about 100 employees. We are relocating our office in about a year to a newly constructed building. The new building will have a new network infrastructure built from scratch. Plans are still being discussed and any customizations can be made. We would be having a separate server room, a gigabit ethernet backbone, WiFi connectivity, T3 line and rest of the works.

Requirements: Every employee should have a IP hard-phone in his/her desk Soft Phone options should also be present for remote users (hardly 10 -

15 of them)

Questions:

1) How exactly does VoIP work? Do I provide the connection between my VoIP network and the local exchange? Or, Do I just route the voice traffic to a VoIP provider through my T3 line and pay somebody to take care of the connection from IP to PSTN?

2) Who are the most common vendors and what solutions do they offer which could match my requirements?

3) What would be the cost ( a ballpark figure) ?

4) What hardware would I be required to buy?

5) What level of technical expertise is required from the compay?

Thanks in advance,

J
Reply to
jislord
Loading thread data ...

Either one, as you prefer. Or a mix of both.

miguel

Reply to
Miguel Cruz

Excellent time to be considering a VOIP system! Plan on individual VOIP telephones, depending on vendor, model, features and quality, to cost in the ballpark of $100 to $500 apiece. Multiply that by 100 phones, assuming

1 for each employee, and you can get some idea where this is headed. The main controller, again depending on vendor, features and quality, will command another $5000 to $30,000.