Re: OOma? [telecom]

Two months ago in the ba.internet group one person wrote he recently >subscribed to Ooma's service and it was a no-brainer and the quality >is excellent and service is free with only a monthly cost of $3.91 >(in Silicon Valley) for federal and state taxes and E911 service.

How is this preferable to the ~$50 Obihai box, which for a one-time payment gives permanent pseudo-POTS service?

Reply to
Randall Webmail
Loading thread data ...

FWIW, no one has ever mentioned Obihai in a VoIP thread in the ba.internet thread before, so your question about it is the first I've heard of Obihai.

I'm curious how Obihai can avoid charging federal and state fees and the E911 service tax; if they're not charging those fees that may come and bite them.

"permanent pseudo-POTS service" is a gamble with any vendor. I've been tracking Ooma for over 7 years noting they were founded in

2004. At this point they have exceeded the normal startup belly-up time and it looks like they'll be around for the long-term given the reviews and articles I've read about Ooma and the other comments in the ba.internet group.

Obihai seems to have been founded in 2009 per their whois creation date and there's meagre info about the company and its management on their website vs. a lot of info on Ooma's website about Ooma.

I suppose one could compare product data sheets of both companies to determine which company's products better suits one's needs. I get the impression Obihai is concentrating on doing business mostly with companies noting Ooma has also recently entered that arena.

Obihai's document downloads are here to learn more about their products and service:

formatting link
and
formatting link