Intercom

Need some advice from the readers here that are smarter than me. :) I am a professional in the field (weeeeee Feb 1 was 10 years!) And I just finished doing my cameras at the house and me and the wife are talking about doing an intercom but unfortunatly I don;t know that much abouyt them. I have done a few small linear systems but I want to see if I can get some consensus from the yokels here as to brands/models. Prob looking at 1 out door station and 5 or so indoor stations.

Thanks for the advice guys

Bill

Reply to
alarmdude9
Loading thread data ...

M&S DMC1 nice b/g sound from tiny speakers kinda amazing actually. The 6CD changer is a tad pricey but nice setup.

Reply to
Crash Gordon

Hi Bill,

Happy 10th anniversary!

I've used Aiphone intercoms for many of my own installations. The audio is crystal clear and the systems last forever. Their video intercoms are among the best I've found anywhere.

If you want 5 inside stations and 1 door station, audio only, consider the LEF-5. It can be all masters (every room can talk to every other room), 1 master and all subs (1 room talks to all other rooms) or a combination thereof. The most common residential setup is a master in the kitchen and subs everywhere else. Some families like to have a second master in the master bedroom.

Here's a typical all-sub layout with door release:

1 LEF-5C 5-CALL SEMI-FLUSH MOUNT MASTER 4 LE-A SURFACE/DESK MOUNT SUB 1 LE-D SURFACE MOUNT DOOR STATION 1 RY-PA DOOR RELEASE RELAY 1 PS-1225UL 12V DC, 2.5A POWER SUPPLY (110 VAC)

If you don't need door release, strike the RY-PA module.

Another option is to install one of the CAT5 intercoms such as OnQ/Legrand's Inquire series. There are kits that include a master station, a door station and several subs. Here's a link:

formatting link