X10 continuous bright problem...

I've been running a fairly large X10 system for almost 20 years. 60 modules, repeater. I've eliminated the wireless leg over power lines. It's been generally reliable, with a few soft spots on long runs and the occasional killer power supply in a PC, printer or game device. No whole house filter, but my neighbors are 100 - 200 feet away.

So today, it stops working. Total shutdown. A little research turns up a continuous E9/bright command. My little tester flags it as a strong, clean signal with noiseless zeros and full strength 1s.

A long search reveals no suspicious devices, so I turn off the breakers one at a time. Doesn't work. I open all the breakers, and find that the signal is on at least two separate circuits. I have the repeater disconnected as well.

Then comes an indiscretion with the tester as I connect it across the two lin phases, and it ejects black smoke. So I never quite nailed it as an external influence, but it seems that is what it has to be. Almost like one of my neighbors is blasting e9/b with a big amp.

Of course, it is gone now. And the whole house filter will arrive this week.

Anybody ever seen anything like this? It was almost like a deliberate jamming signal.

Reply to
martin.reynolds
Loading thread data ...

Reply to
BruceR

Martin,

In addition to Bruce's suggestion of a stuck button, there's a fairly common occurence with X-10 transceivers getting locked into a continuous state (I dubbed it "endless dim syndrome".) where they send DIM or BRT until unplugged. There's also a condition usually referred to as "powerline storms" which usually is associated with the Leviton HCA02-10E coupler/repeater although the symptoms you see do not seem to match those usually seen with the coupler.

Are you us>I've been running a fairly large X10 system for almost 20 years. 60

Reply to
Dave Houston