Project ideas?

First of all I'm a newbie in this area! In two weeks time in need to submit a project proposal. This is going to be the final year project for the computer engineering course. I need to know if it is possible to develop a home automation system that is controlled directly from a pc. I intend to control lights, get a live feed from a camera and also if it is possible to control an air condition. Can someone please help me with some ideas and suggestions?

Thanks, Clayton

Reply to
clayton.curmi
Loading thread data ...

Of course it's possible. :)

There are several companies and hobbists who do this now:

formatting link
formatting link
formatting link
formatting link
Plus, of course, all of the hardware-based solutions, with some level of scripting or programming
formatting link
formatting link
formatting link
formatting link
formatting link
formatting link
formatting link
And I'm sure I've left out a whole bunch. One of the very cool things about software is that if you don't like how somethings done, you can write your own to change it!

Depending on the scope of the requirements of your project, you may want to scale down your idea a bit, and tackle only a part of it. Is this hardware or software engineering?

But, perhaps, you should either pick something in which you are not a newbie and/or allow more than two weeks before the project that will culminate your university career.

- Byron

Reply to
Byron Hynes

Hi,

Thanks for the links. It's more software than hardware engineering. I would like to focus on lighting control or a wireless transmission of a motorized webcam that can be broadcasted over the internet. The webcam can be controlled remotely and the transmission should be encryptyed and secure.

Regards Clayton

Reply to
Clayton

Here's my home automation plan using CQC. All done for pennies on the dollar through DIY.

- Whole House Audio/Video distribution, mzone/msource with HDTV in each area

- HVAC control

- drape control