Ping: Volker Birk & Possibly Other Regs!

I have been visiting this newsgroup for a few years now, popping in and out when I wanted to see what is happening on the subject of Firewalls and computer security.

To be honest when I started to have a look at some of Volker's posts and replies at first I thought he was in some ways just a troll, as he did seem to post the same statement over and over again, but in the last few days I have taken the time to have a good read of his recent replies, those posted in the last few days anyway.

With that in mind I would like to offer my apologies to you Volker, for doubting your sincerity and thus also doubting you knowledge and ability, I hope that you will accept my apology as it is meant.

You see too many people are only too happy to verbally attack others on/in usenet, but not enough are prepared to own up when they were wrong, although in this case thankfully I think I amy have only posted a doubtful reply once in reference to you, but that was once too many.

Mind you just so you know, if I post a question or ask for advice, please *PLEASE* bear in mind that I have only got a nice pre-historic computer, that is running Win98SE. So your WinXP firewall answer is of no help to me! ;-)

Best Wishes & once again please accept my apologies.

Gaz.

Reply to
Gaz.
Loading thread data ...

*G*

Yes. As a matter of fact, you don't need a firewall for Windows 98, because it's very easy to unbind any network service from your external interface. Just right-click on it, chose Properties, and remove anyhing with the exception of "TCP/IP".

Yours, VB.

Reply to
Volker Birk

Him being sincere has nothing to do with his message being right or wrong. I also think he's sincere in his messages, think that he actually believes what he's typing, but he's wrong in his assessment of Windows Firewall for XP.