NAT Question

Hello and thanks in advance for any help you can provide. I am very new to this topic so please forgive my ignorance...

Here is my sistuation: Under current Windows (XP, etc), suppose I have two tcp/ip client processes running on the same machine from behind a NAT. Each process wants to use the same socket local address (IP/port) but connects to different remote address. Under Winsock 2, at least, it seems one can set a socket option to permit more than one socket to be bound to the same local address (setsocketoption with SO_REUSEADDR).

So my question is: will a NAT use the same port on its public interface for both of these sockets? Or to put it another way, will the two different remote processes "see" the same public IP/port?

Thanks.

Reply to
David White
Loading thread data ...

In article , David White wrote: : :Here is my sistuation: Under current Windows (XP, etc), suppose I have two :tcp/ip client processes running on the same machine from behind a NAT. Each :process wants to use the same socket local address (IP/port) but connects to :different remote address. Under Winsock 2, at least, it seems one can set a :socket option to permit more than one socket to be bound to the same local :address (setsocketoption with SO_REUSEADDR). : :So my question is: will a NAT use the same port on its public interface for :both of these sockets? Or to put it another way, will the two different remote :processes "see" the same public IP/port?