hardware firewall buying

You are incorrect - the device permits all outbound traffic, unless you've configured it to block outbound. The device also permits all forms of files to be downloaded via HTTP and SMTP.

So, to say that "Nothing" gets through is very misleading and only talking about 1 direction.

Reply to
Leythos
Loading thread data ...

Don't get me wrong, I think the BEFSX will do you fine too - you appear to understand the limitations of the "Firewall" part of the device, and how to take care of your network. Many people that have no such technical skills will not understand the different and it will not be enough protection for them.

Reply to
Leythos

I've never been hit, but I have been toying with viruses, trojans, and malware for nearly 17 years now just to see what it is they do. Partly because a good defense is to know what the offense is doing, but mostly because I am curious to a fault.

But I use Symantec Ghost religiously. Images are made daily, so restoring the system to a pristine state is easy.

There is the occasional flame war about the definition of the term firewall. Leythos is a purest and adamant about the definition. But that is just a difference of opinion and point of view. (The RFC2979 document, which defines anything with a packet filter as being a firewall is quite old after all.)

The fact remains that if you want reliable information about firewalls and security, Leythos is the one to ask.

Reply to
Spender

True. But in that case, even an upper end "true" firewall device will be useless since they will not take the time to learn how to configure it.

A desire to learn how to be secure is the first step towards security. But there will always be that clueless portion of PC users who don't give a thought to security until their system has every virus, trojan, and malware running.