Cisco 501 Pix - Cable Modem - Wireless Router.....

Hi Everyone,

I would appreciate some basic (very basic) suggestions as to how I might WIRE my network. I am VERY new at this so please be patient with me.

Here are the components:

A Cable Modem.

A Belkin Wireless Router.

1 Asus PC with a regular hard wired network card

A Cisco PIX 501 firewall. (just purchased used)

1 Gateway PC with a wireless network card.

1 Dell PC with a wireless network card.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been told several possible ways to configure these components and I am curious as what people in here might suggest. Please bear in mind that I am VERY new at this so I am seeking the most basic of suggestions.

Basically I am looking for a "what to hook up to what" schematic if that is possible.

Thanks, ntwrkgy

Reply to
Network Student
Loading thread data ...

Most PIX 501 configuration information is over in comp.dcom.sys.cisco .

You have a problem: you almost certainly did not receive a license to *use* the PIX 501. The software is not transferable except under certain (usually expensive) conditions. Cisco does not sell the PIX line retail, so their license terms are legally enforceable except where specific laws override those terms (Germany and Denmark, possibly a few other countries that I haven't been able to prove as yet.)

In order to legally use the PIX 501 you probably need to "relicense" it from Cisco. The Cisco part number is LL-PIX-501-SW-10. Prices vary a fair bit on it; the lowest I see at the moment is $US161, list price is $US195 .

Reply to
Walter Roberson

Plug the PIX 501 into the cable modem. Plug the wireless router and the Asus PC into the pix 501. Use the Gateway and Dell wireless, or else plug them into the back of the PIX 501.

The PIX 501 has one port to plug into the WAN (the cable modem), and a block of four ports for your inside network. Those four ports act as a switch.