Cisco Pix 501

I am an experienced Net Admin, but this thing is killing me. Can't get it to work at all. I do have a couple of brain cells and have RTFM.

Trying to plug it into a simple system between a Comcast SMC 8013wg router/switch and a Netgear FSM7352s managed switch. Ultimate goal is to make a VPN to another company. Right now I just want to make it allow traffic to pass and play nice on the network.

DHCP is being handled by windows 2003 server with AD. DHCP turned off on SMC 8013 router. The Pix has 192.168.1.1 address. Internal network is

10.1.10.x.

If I change the internal network on the Pix (give it an IP of say

10.1.10.200) , it tells me "can't put on same network". It gives me errors on DHCP even though I turn it off on the Pix. Latest OS on Pix.

Anyone out there that can help this frustrated IT guy?

Thanks

Reply to
taipan
Loading thread data ...

Hi Taipan,

You may also wish to investigate the SMC Networks Forum:

formatting link
as well as the Netgear Forum:

formatting link
and finally the Comcast Support Forums:

formatting link
Sincerely,

Brad Reese Cisco Technical Forums

formatting link

Reply to
www.BradReese.Com

Forgive me if this seems rude, but WTF do any of those have to do with configuring a 501 Pix?

Reply to
taipan

Were you in config mode when trying to enter your changes?

To begin, your prompt should look like: pixfirewall#

Brad Reese Cisco Repair

formatting link

Reply to
www.BradReese.Com

PDM or COM console? been reset to factory defaults so many times it is not funny :-(

Yes I know what pixfirewall# (config) is.

My (stupid) assumption was that the pix was smart enough to figure out the outgoing gateway and the internal network. It seems stuck on 192.168.1.1. External IP (static) is 68.x.x.x. Internal network is 10.1.10.x. That's it. Just want to make it work. Just pass traffic. Have others to help on a VPN tunnel.

Reply to
taipan

can you post your config and the exact error messages

M
Reply to
mak