strongly guided fiber?

I am working on modeling some fiber for my dissertation and something came up in doing my homework on standard step index smf fiber. Many of the texts I have referenced and done the standard weakly guided solutions for fibers all use the "weakly guided assumption" and the dispersion relationship to search for modes...

What happens if a fiber is strongly guided? I know the modeling breaks down for that type of solution technique...but what happens in reality with a strongly guided fiber? Why are they not desirable in industry..for telecom etc?

I am a mechanical engineer doing stress sensor research...so I didn't have an EM class. Any help would be appreciated..this is just a question that I have, not really related to my research.

Thanks,

Pat.

Reply to
psvanvic
Loading thread data ...

The long answer:

In any lossless optical system, the product of the area and projected solid angle of any single mode is always lambda**2/2. Stronger guiding equals a wider angular acceptance, which increases the projected solid angle. To keep a fibre single-mode with stronger guiding, you have to decrease the core diameter. This has the following disadvantages:

1. Tighter mechanical tolerances--if you halve the diameter, you have to align twice as accurately.

1. Higher losses at splices--you can't readily make the cladding index very much lower than that of fused silica (~1.46), so you have to increase the core index, which leads to higher reflection losses.

2. Higher losses due to microbending--roughness at the core-cladding boundary causes much higher scattering when the index discontinuity is large and the field strength is high, as in small-diameter, high-index fibre.

All of these things increase the cost of transmission systems, which is why very weak guiding is used.

Strong guiding is good for lots of things too: