VLAN

If a layer 2 switch is using IEEE 802.1q compatibility, then is it support both ieee 802.1q and port-based vlan compatibility ???

Reply to
vicky
Loading thread data ...

Bonjour Vicky,

I'm not really an expert of that, but I can see that nobody replies to that interresting question.

A VLAN-aware bridge is a bridge specified by 802.1Q.

As you can read in the section 5.4 of the specification:

"An implementation of a VLAN-aware Bridge may support Port-and- Protocol-based VLAN classification (5.3.1.2), including multiple VID (VLAN identifiers) values per port, administrative control of the values of the multiple VIDs, and a Protocol Group Dat."

Best regards, Michelot

Reply to
Michelot

---------------------------------- Thanks a lot for responding

One thing i want to ask....

One of my question is comes when i read a switch data sheet here this line is mentioned....

If both the VID and MAC Address are used , a single MAC address is able to be a member of multiple VLANs simentaniously......

Please help me to clarify this statement.....

Thanks in advance..........

Reply to
vicky

Bonjour Vicky,

We don't know all the context, so we can imagine one possibility. It exists surely other possibilities of interpretation.

Suppose just one switch, with e.g; 24 port-based VLAN, connected to terminal stations that send no-tagged Ehernet frames.

The station S1 is connected to the port P2 configured to belong to the VLAN V3. Other switch ports are also configured with the VLAN V3, e.g. P7 and P20.

Suppose S1 sends a (classical) Ethernet frame to reach the destination address DA7. And, it is the first sending with that address.

The switch broadcasts the frame into all the VLAN V3 (except to the sender S1), that are stations connected to P7 and P20. If the station S4 connected to P20 e.g. replies, its address is registered in the self learning table with that information: S4/V3/SA4 (source address of S4).