Layer 3 switch model?

Hi, I'm a college student & my final year project is to upgrade & reconfigure my college network... The college has 700 PC's. It's an adhoc network. I have recommended VLANS. In all there will be 7 VLANS. I want to know which model of Layer 3 switches I should recommend to the college. It shouldn't be very costly. Please give me your suggestions/ recommendations.

Reply to
alvaresangela
Loading thread data ...

Purist wording nit-pick follows :)

Packets at layer 3 are not switched. They are routed.

Switching is what is done with packets at layer 2.

Marketroids and salescritters will often tag a device as a "Layer N Switch" because they believe it will sound better - in olden days it was presumed that "switching" was faster than "routing" so even though what happens at layer 3 is routing they call it switching.

Naming can get really "fun" when multiple functions are combined within a single box :)

Now, having been nitpicky, I'll point to

formatting link
will have a number of devices with both switching and routing capability. Alas I have no control over whether or not they call routing layer 3 switching :)

rick jones

Reply to
Rick Jones

i suggest you start with stating the problem you want to solve not how you want to solve it.

once you have that the rest of the limits you have to work to get clearer.

So - QoS needed? Power over Ethernet? a few big switches or lots of small ones?

Or - start with some sort of reference design to show you how it is done, and then try to translate that into something you can build.

Cisco have some good design docs that explain general principles as well as how they suggest you apply their products - have a look at:

formatting link
I want to know which model of Layer 3 switches I should

The design may get cheaper if you only use layer 3 in some locations - maybe just for 1 or 2 core switches.