Resetting a Catalyst 2924 XL Switch

Hello:

Let me start by saying I'm a truck driver, and sick of driving, and going for a CCIE certification. I know some stuff about networking, but not a whole lot, so I'm starting at the beginning. I bought a Catalyst 2924 XL switch off ebay, and it's still configured to the network that it came from. I bought 2 console cables to connect to them, and followed "Cisco - Networking Basics" book on how to connect to it via console cable. I get nothing. So I tried looking up how to reset it, and got no where, but a guy gave me a link somewhere on Cisco's site on how to reset it, and I tried. All I succeeded in doing was half-way resetting the switch I think. I turned it off, held the mode button in when plugged it back it, and waited for the led on port 1 to go out. All I got after that was the System LED flashing, and all the port LED's on. But it's still spitting out an ARP request.

I think it's set up as a managed switch because it's spitting out ARP requests on the network when I look at it with a sniffer. Although I don't really care that it does that, and for my uses, it doesn't do anything to network speed, I still need to be able to get into it and play. I don't know where to start now that all my expertise is exhausted.

If someone would be gratious enough to walk me through how to properly reset the switch, and what I need to do to get back into it, I'd be very grateful. Each day I do this, it seems my goals keep going farther away, although, going for a CCNA isn't that hard, I'm told. Financial limitations are the biggest issue for me. That and about 4 hrs of sleep a night doesn't really cut it, but I'm trying my hardest to do this.

Outta Luck

Reply to
Outta Luck
Loading thread data ...

You may wish to investigate System LED Information:

formatting link
and LED Troubleshooting:

formatting link
Sincerely,

Brad Reese Cisco Repair and Hardware Troubleshooting

formatting link

Reply to
www.BradReese.Com