Network newb - VLAN's subnets (long)

Not sure this is the best group to post in, so if not, please direct me to the correct one.

I've taken the job of a network admin for a regional library system. I'm new to network admin but am trying best to learn quickly. I was previously in a web admin position when I was (in)voluntarily moved into this job.

The current network is in a working state but needs to be upgraded in many ways. The network sits behind a firewall with 100 or so users, but many more network attached devices. The network is a very simple, flat network NAT'ed inside the firewall with a 192.168.1.x scheme that I foresee running out of addresses in the future. There is one main library headquarters that has the majority of servers, users & devices, then 2 other branches that have 4 or 5 computers, and one more branch that has about 30 network devices. All are connected via fiber by Cisco 3508 & 2950 switches and 2 newer Alcatel switches.

Currently a Windows NT box does DHCP, and authentication for filesharing etc. I will probably replace that box. No real network based applications like Exchange or SQL server. There is a large file server - Snap 4200 that uses the Windows domain for file permissions. There are a few other servers - an AS/400, a SuSE box, and a Win2K server that does A/V and tape backups. No internal DNS, only IP addresses, - WINS? An ISP provides email service.

Not sure the best place to start reconfiguring this network. I know I need the ability to add more addresses. Would I do this with multiple subnets? Should this be done with VLAN's on the Cisco switches? Do I need to implement internal DNS to make this work? All branches need to be able to access the servers at HQ but not necessarily to each other. Would just expanding to a larger, flat address space be better? I have read some notes from the previous admin regarding cutting down on broadcast traffic, but I don't think the network has congestion problems.