GRC and Cisco PIX 501

Hi Folks,

I have a Cisco PIX 501 and now that it is up and running. I went to test it out at GRC dot com using "Shields Up" on "Common Ports" and received the following message:

Ping Reply: RECEIVED (FAILED) - Your system REPLIED to our Ping (ICMP Echo) requests, making it visible on the Internet. Most personal firewalls can be configured to block, drop, and ignore such ping requests in order to better hide systems from hackers. This is highly recommended since "Ping" is among the oldest and most common methods used to locate systems prior to further exploitation.

So I am wondering how I can block this as GRC states I should be able to. Please be aware that I am very new at this and it was quite a task for me to get up and running in the first place. I AM slowly figuring things out though.

How can I block an ICMP ping request from the command line with a Cisco PIX 501?

Thanks everyone.

Reply to
Networking Student
Loading thread data ...

Unfortunately, at the same time you did NOT receive a message suggesting that you visit and think about the content at

formatting link

ping of the firewall is controlled by the 'icmp' command.

When you block icmp echo to the PIX, be sure to still allow icmp echo-reply and icmp time-exceeded and icmp unreachable .

Also note that if you have no icmp command applied to the outside interface, then all icmp is permitted to the PIX itself, but if you put in even one icmp command applied to the outside interface then that default permit no longer applies and you must specify everything you want to permit to the PIX.