Creating Subnets for Business Applications

All,

I am kind of a newbie here so please bear with me.

I have to create an infrastructure where we basically would have application servers communicating with database servers constantly. I have to create GigE switch fabric, if you will, and connect all these Windows based servers to it.

I was thinking would it be a better practice to create 1 network and place all application\\database servers in this network to communicate with each other, rather than creating 2 networks and place the application servers in one network and the databases in the other.

Mind you, I am planning to purchase a C5000 catalyst switch for this, or maybe a c6500 series would work as well.

My questions are:

1. Does it make sense to create 1 network for the app\database servers or 2 networks to separate the functions?

1. All servers will be connected to the same catalyst. Will the speed increase in terms of communication and processing if on the same network or 2 separate ones.

2. Since they are Windows based systems, which we all know to be very chatty on the network, would the 1 network scenario create a huge broadcast domain? Whereas using 2 networks would reduce this broadcast domain?

1. Is it safe to say that if using the same switch and same network, the servers will be using more layer two type communication, rather than layer 3? Because the way I understand these Windows based systems, they use the MAC addresses to communicate with each other if on the same network. But if communicates spans networks, they will use IP, which is layer 3.

Any insight would be helpful. Thanks in advance!

John B.

Reply to
toureg69
Loading thread data ...

I wouldn't recommend that, for two reasons: