ADSL Router

Can anyone recommend a Cisco ADSL Router for use at home? Is it worth going for the Soho 97, or will an older model be as good? TIA.

Reply to
rob
Loading thread data ...

Do you have any specific requirements, or will "Must be Cisco" "Must do ADSL" suffice? :-)

Ta,

Gary

Reply to
Gary Smith

I guess thats about it. Im studying for CCNA and wanted something to play with, but want to end up with something I can make use of as well. I just don't want to end up with something too old. Hopefully someone will have had experience of these and know which models might have certain disadvantages.

Reply to
jedimaster rob

oh yes, preferably with switch ports on the back instead of a hub.

Reply to
jedimaster rob

Ah, same boat as me! An 837 would do sterling service, as it:

A) Does ADSL B) Has switch ports (4 of them! And they do 10/100!). But wait, there's more... C) It's a Cisco and does IOS goodness.

However, if you're not willing to give your bank manager a heart attack by saying you want to spend the sharp end of 300 quid on a router (new), you look at:

The SOHO 91/Cisco 831 don't have the modem built into them - I'm making a huge assumption that you're based in the UK. If I'm wrong, then you'll have to work this bit out yourself: UK services are generally wires-only, which requires the use of a modem on the end of your phone line. The 837 has this

- the 830, doesn't. It's just got an ethernet on it. If your ADSL is presented on ethernet, you're fine with this.

The 827 is another choice, but these are a bit older than the 837 - depends what you want. The 827 is fine for learning IOS on, and the 827-4V is definitely still a current model.

There's more details here:

formatting link
Your other option is to get a suitable chassis and a ADSL WIC.

Hope that's useful,

Gary

Reply to
Gary Smith

The Soho9x is basically a slightly stripped down C83x.