2924 + vlans

I have 2 2924's with the WS-X2924-XL-V expansion port in each. I have the trunks between switches set up via port group 1 on 2 interfaces on each swithc. It seems to work well

on switch 2, I have defined a vlan for ports 17-24, however after doing so, i cannot access any network resources.

We have a 2600 upstream, and it doesnt support encapsulation atm, ill have to upgrade it.. however my question is this

I never found a place to define the netowrk range for the second vlan.. Reading up, intervace vlan2 ip add.. is just for management.

So here it is..

Can I configure this second switch (which is trunked up to the main, and hte main goes to the router) to pass all vlans upstream ? Or do I need a subinterface on the router with dotq encap and a vlan defined ?

I am a newb to vlans, the switches work just fine, it is just those 8 ports in vlan 2 that do me no good.

I have this on both trunks

interface FastEthernet1/1 port group 1 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q switchport trunk allowed vlan 1,2,1002-1005 switchport mode trunk ! interface FastEthernet1/2 port group 1 switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q switchport trunk allowed vlan 1,2,1002-1005 switchport mode trunk

vlan 1 routes just fine, vlan 2 dies hehe. I understand if you ignore this. But if you have time and dont mind it would rock for some help..

router -> switch1 switch2

the vlan is defined on switch 2.

Reply to
turnip
Loading thread data ...

I could be off base here, but I thought you could not create more than one vlan on a 2924? Doesn't it allow only one SVI? I thought you have to create some place else and trunk it in, and then assign the ports...but could be wrong...don't work with small switches too often, so forgive me if I am off base.

You may need to create a sub int on the router (unless your other switch is something that has more L3 capability, then trunk it from the router to switch 1, and then trunk the vlans between the two switches.