Newbie question - What's wrong with my switch?

Newbie here trying to set up a CCNA lab. A friend gave me a Catalyst 3550 but it's not fully working. I'd like to use to become familiar with switches first before going to routers (I have two routers but can't get the DCE cable to hook them back-to-back Anybody know how to make a male DTE cable into a DTE cable? I have a soldering iron:)

When I power up this switch the Systen light stays amber - which I hope I know means that the post test did not pass.

I also know from the outpt listed here below that Ethernet Controller (2) is bad.

Any help in identifying and trouble shooting the problem would be welcome.

Thanks.

output of switch follows...

========================================================================

File "flash:c3550-i5q3l2-mz.121-12c.EA1/c3550-i5q3l2-mz.121-12c.EA1.bin" uncompr essed and installed, entry point: 0x3000 executing...

Restricted Rights Legend

Use, duplication, or disclosure by the Government is subject to restrictions as set forth in subparagraph (c) of the Commercial Computer Software - Restricted Rights clause at FAR sec. 52.227-19 and subparagraph (c) (1) (ii) of the Rights in Technical Data and Computer Software clause at DFARS sec. 252.227-7013.

cisco Systems, Inc. 170 West Tasman Drive San Jose, California 95134-1706

Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software IOS (tm) C3550 Software (C3550-I5Q3L2-M), Version 12.1(12c)EA1, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1) Copyright (c) 1986-2002 by cisco Systems, Inc. Compiled Mon 25-Nov-02 00:07 by antonino Image text-base: 0x00003000, data-base: 0x0075FE48