star coax network with rj adapters ?

Hello,

Two years ago, I bought a house that already had coaxial plates installed on almost each rooms. Each plate uses a single wire (no T conectors are used), which makes the whole installation a physical star coaxial network.

Of course, unless I plan to buy 18 TVs and put them everywhere in my house, this setup is kind of useless. However, if I could use these coax wires as an ethernet network, it could help me transform my not- so-reliable wireless computers network to a fast reliable wired network.

I've found RJ-to-coax adapters that seem to be able to do the conversion. But, as a certified CISCO administrator, my knowledge of coaxial wires consist of knowing that they have been used an eternity ago in physical bus topologies barely reaching 10mb with a lot of instability.

So if I put these physical rj-coax converters, will I be able to reach fast ethernet speeds and standards? Will the coax wires ever be able to reliably support a lan-type computers network?

Thank you, EBL

Reply to
eric.bouchardlefebvre
Loading thread data ...

Assuming you want to use 10/100 Base-T over these "physical RJ-coax converters", how do they provide conversion of 2-conductor coax to 4-conductor twisted pair ??

Any chance the coax can be used as "pull string" for CAT5 wire ??

Reply to
Reed

What kind of connectors on the plate? Screw-on ~ 3/8" diameter normally used by TVs (type 'F' connector)? BNC?

If that is for television, it's almost certainly RG-6/U or RG-59/U coax, which is 75 Ohm. Ethernet uses cables similar to RG-8/U (for the original thick-net) or RG-58/U (thin-net) both of which are 50 Ohm. That means Ethernet doesn't work to well (if at all) using television coax.

Not very likely. The cables come together somewhere (the "center" of the "star" using splitters - which are basically resistor networks to "match" the impedances. These will not work on Ethernet.