Cat 5e twists

Cables are built with different twists in the pairs, to minimize crosstalk. All pairs are good enough to run ethernet.

Reply to
James Knott
Loading thread data ...

Other than with Gigabit, how is delay skew a concern? At 10 & 100 Mb, only one pair is used in each direction.

Reply to
James Knott

Is there a difference between the pairs of Cat 5e?

I've been doing cabling (not exclusively) for a few years but today while drawing a temp makeshift patch cord from my study to my bedroom i noticed that some pairs are more tightly twisted than others. Is it just cos this happens to be a dirt cheap cable?

B.

Reply to
Brendon Caligari

Yes.

Nope, thats exactly the way it should be.

Different twists mean that that radiation pattern for that pair is slightly different than the next pair, reducing cross-talk along the whole length of the cable between the different pairs.

Reply to
Doug McIntyre

Hmmmm......should the 'rate of twist' change over distance to eventually even out? The twists of this particular cable were quite pronounced and guess that if it was the same all along one pair drawn out would be substantially longer than on another pair.

B.

Reply to
Brendon Caligari

This concern is taken care of by specifying a parameter that's called "delay skew". Up to the maximum distance the signal can travel (100 meters), the length of the "stretched out" pairs (or simply copper length) cannot be different more than in takes light to travel 45 ns in copper (approx. 0.67 speed in vacuum). So, multiplying it all up we get 4.5E-08 sec x 3E08 m/sec = 13.5 meters or

44 feet 3 inches if you like. That's roughly how much copper length difference a pair of devices talking over that cable can tolerate. This, in turn, means that the designers of those devices should allow enough memory buffer to hold the parts of the data stream for at least 45 ns.
Reply to
Dmitri(Cabling-Design.com

James, you are absolutely correct. There is no arguing about that.