Long Distance On Same Physical Switch [Telecom]

I know this is a total newbie question, but I see many switches which have more than one area code, where those numbers are not local to each other, even though they seem to be on the same physical switch.

For example switch NWORLAMODS0 in New Orleans houses the 985-801 exchange as well as 504-212, according to localcallingguide.com.

Rate centre New Orleans, LA Covington, LA Rate centre V/H 08483/02638 08383/02692 LATA 490 490 Distance* 36 miles 58 km Local call+ N

Or does a number being on the switch irrevelant with number portability? Or is there something else I'm missing?

I think the US should keep the old circuit switched system around for hospitals, 911 and other emergency services, and eliminate long distance altogether.

Reply to
Justin Goldberg
Loading thread data ...

A switch may host a number of remotes, of various smarts. SLC's and such are dumb mux's, sending all calls back to the host.

ORM's such as BRRDMDBR are more independent; they do much of what the full 5E does, but still lean on the host that can be up to ?150 miles? away.

Reply to
David Lesher

Then, there are the metro end-office switches that are rated both for the community in which they are located and they also contain a downtown rated office code to keep down an otherwise high demand for FEX service.

These may have all but died out by now. But, they were a hot item in the Los Angeles area for many years.

Reply to
Sam Spade

It's nothing new.

For decades certain urban city switches handled nearby suburban exchanges, even though the suburban exchange had different calling plans and was in a different rate center.