How to use Efficient 5861 with VLAN?

I need to connect 2 networks on a Planet 1602 switch to a BT Efficient

The Planet supports VLANs. Is there a both networks can be connected to the internet through the router without compromising security?

I am a complete newbie in this area.

Reply to
mydejamail
Loading thread data ...

I am new to with VLANs. It is having to share the same physical switch that has made me take interest, but my understanding is that it is the same as having separate physical networks.

According to the switch documentation, it supports port based VLAN and

802.1q VLANs.

What I need to do is to make sure that sharing the same DSL router will not allow packets from one networks to be visible on those from the other.

I have never really delved into using the both ethernet interfaces and subnets on the 5861.

When you say 'If you need true 802.1q tagging, that isnt going to happen' does that mean that the physical connection to the Ethernet

5861 will allow that to happen, regardless of both VLAN separation and the subnetting offered by the 5861?
Reply to
mydejamail

snipped-for-privacy@yahoo.co.uk wrote on 5/23/2005 9:23 AM:

The VLAN term has been butchered recently. Are you talking about true VLAN tagging or are you just talking about having multiple LAN segments behind teh 5861?

If you are talking about simply adding another LAN segment, you can do that via the CLI on the 5861 "eth add ..." You can then set up firewall rules for each subnet.

If you need true 802.1q tagging, that isnt going to happen.

Good luck,

Jim

Reply to
Jim

You absolutely cannot do this with a 5861. The ethernet ports provided by the

5861 are not switched. Everything that comes in or out any one of the ports will be visible at every other port. That's not to say that it would be easy to decipher the contents of the data if it is encrypted, but it is not what you are asking for.
Reply to
George Pontis

Greetings,