wireless cameras and surveliance

I am new to computers and wireless. I am gone alot from my house and would like to know what is going on in there while I am gone. (Especially children).

Is there a way I can monitor rooms in my house from my computer at work over the internet without the kids being able to find out on my main computer at home? (Which they use alot)

Reply to
ALWAYSLONELY8
Loading thread data ...

Check out

formatting link

Just don't give out your email. (They will be emailing you 5 times a day!)

They have lots of wireless video equipment and multi camera solutions.

Reply to
EL

Yep. I'll assume you have a broadband connection. Purchase one of the numerous internet cameras, that have a built in web server. The really fancy ones also have remote zoom, pan, and swivel. Set it up on your LAN (ethernet or wireless) and point it at the kids. If you don't have a static (fixed) IP address, subscribe to one of the numerous dynamic DNS services so that you can find your home IP address. Redirect the necessary IP ports, in your router configuration, to the camera. It's all in the instructions. From work, just run something like:

formatting link
the URL is whatever you setup as a dynamic DNS name, and the

5000 is what I vaguely recall is the default port for DLink. Most cameras include audio, so you can also listen.

Just one flaw in this method. If your kids have an IQ over 100, they will instantly find the camera and find a way to defeat or circumvent it. If their IQ is under 100, they will instantly find a way to destroy it.