WEP / WPA problems

Hello, everyone. This is my first time in a forum. The reason I'm here is due to a rather heated discussion I had this evening with my teenage son. I just purchased a new Dell desktop and was configuring the Netgear router. I have learned that WPA is more secure than WEP, so that's what I set it for. My son informed me that the last time I did this, it ruined his gaming experience on his Alien gaming computer (both computers run XP Home, SP2). He says that even having it on WEP slows and even halts some of his games and causes "problems" with his computer. He claims that no one can tap into our computers since they don't have the password to the router, adding that they haven't been able to hack into our computers in the two years that we've had no secure encryption. And even if they did, they couldn't get into his computer (he said my computer, which is directly connected to the internet, would be safe). He showed me the routers in the area that we can tap into and noted that we can't get into their computers. Please help. If I truly need WPA, how can I configure it so that it won't cause problems on my son's computer? Somehow, I think he's wrong about people not being able to hack into our computers. I know a lot about computers, can take them apart, etc., but wireless issues are rather foreign to me. Thanks for any help you can provide. I'll eat dirt if I'm wrong! I do tend to be overcautious. :confused:

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
NancyB
Loading thread data ...

NancyB hath wroth:

With teenagers, it's either dead silence, or a heated discussion. Nothing in between. He's normal.

Model numbers? Operating system?

Check the Netgear site for firmware updates to the router.

Close. WEP is a giant gapeing security hole that is completely useless for protecting a wireless network. WPA is still quite safe.