Protocol Analyzer (aka Sniffer) Guide

Is there a sniffer guide for dummies? I finally got ethereal and airsnark working but I need to learn more about how to write filters; know which protocols are important. Airsnark appears to be listing my own MAC as an intruder, why is that,- can't it tell which mac is mine and not tell me I am intruding on my own system? Other intruders I think are my shared router. There is an option "to watch" a mac, not sure what that does. One problem I encountered is that these programs have to be run with admin privileges and if you do not set ethereal to the proper adapter at the beginning, airsnare will lock up your system if it cannot open some other adapter. I am a novice at networking protocols and networking in general but I don't want to spend a year learning it, so is there is a quick guide to it understandably written for someone who is not an IT graduate? This is on a stand alone machine, shared guest wifi account so I do not have to worry about a personal network (I think!) I want to see what's going on, if there are privacy leaks,and so forth. Also I want to see what info is being sent plain text (any website passwords or other sensitive data). This is on a windoze xp older laptop

1.5 ghz, 2gb ram so it's not real powerful-when I load mozilla and close it, takes a few moment for screen to refresh back to airsnare for example.
Reply to
Dave U. Random
Loading thread data ...

If you can load wireshark, it is filters for the traffic.

A good operating system won't let just anyone sniff packets. I'm pretty sure opensuse requires root/admin permission to run wireshark. [Suse tends to run at a bit higher security than morst distributions.]

Watching a mac is not going to be very useful since you don't know the mac of the intruder.

It is airsnare, not airsnark. ;-)