Powerline network adapters

I know this is not strictly wireless, but powerline adapters are alternatives to wireless for home networking.

I am buying an older large house. I am pretty sure that my single WRT54G will not cover this space reliably. Further, the house is not cat5 wired and I really do not want to do that. Buying range extenders seemed like a hit or miss affair and expensive from what I have read.

So I was thinking of using powerline adapters to network the house and adding access points in selected large spaces, such as the family room, upstairs or garage.

The question is whether this is a sound plan or not. I have had no experience with powerline adapters. Googling around also seems to yield limited strong recommendations. There appears to be a "some better than others" flavor of postings and a "make sure the store has a good return policy" flavor.

Surveying the crop of solutions at Fry's seems to yield these front runners base on price, performance and extendability.

Panasonic HD-PLC Netgear HDX101

Any comments on this would be very much appreciated.

Reply to
Philip
Loading thread data ...

The netgears work great (the faster ones 102/103/104,

formatting link

85 mbps not the way slow 101's, however a bit more per pair $135-$160), brick house, and internal cement block walls to support the sunken floors upstairs, blocks the signal inside, about $20 more for a pair of the faster ones (read the cnet review and there are purchase links at the end
formatting link
, have one linksys wrt54g on the cable modem, the router output part plugged to the bridge, and then a second linksys wrt54g upstairs in the dining area with the 2nd unit plugged ijnto the router part (don't use the wan input on the second), same ssid but a different channel, lets me roam with the laptops... For some strange reason however, my PDA doesn't work on the second one, but will on the first (notebooks work fine)..