Pls help - want to travel wirelessly and ckeck emails

Pls help - want to travel wirelessly and ckeck emails

Pls note I am not a Techie and this might appear to be a stupid question. But I need help.

I have

1. Comcast for my wireless internet - laptop and
  2. T mobile ( motorola razor) for my cell service.

For temporary traveling purposes with my family on vacation, how can I access my emails via my laptop.

Where do I start ?

What equpiment do I need ? What service ? Which company ?

Since I need this service for less than a week.... what suggestions can anyone give me ? Of course I would like to be economical too.

I have heard of hotspots...

Since I am traveling with my family on vacation, I do not want to have to drive them every 2 hours to the nearest Starbucks etc. to check emails.

It would be nice to be able to do this while we are driving.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks Rita

Reply to
ritagoldman101
Loading thread data ...

There are several options for Internet access on the road.

1. Park phone lines. Almost every RV park, and some campgrounds, have a phone jack in the office, lounge, laundromat, etc. where you can plug in your laptop and dial in to your ISP. I think that is one reason that AOL is so popular with full-timers--the availability of a local phone number everywhere. Earthlink and the other big ISPs are good for that, too. I use a 3 cent/minute calling card when all else fails.

1. Cell phone. We have been using our Verizon cell phone for Internet access for over three years now. In most of the country, we can connect to their "high speed" network that tops out at 144 kbps, which is much faster than dialup. There are a lot of details to review before deciding to do this. The best source of concise information on the topic is the Yahoo Internet By Cell Phone forum:
    formatting link